Week 3 Reviews

These past few weeks have been right from hell 🔥 Remember when I said nothing bad happens in Christmas? Well, I think the universe took that as a challenge and decided to show me 😰

Anyways, we’re back at it again with some of my highly anticipated movies 💃. Too excited to make a long intro, so I’m just gonna dive right in.

Sorry in advance for how long it is. I blame Home Alone.

Note:

  1. The review may carry spoilers. Read at your own risk
  2. As usual, all ratings are scored out of 5 points and based on my enjoyment of the movie and its quality. All ratings are based solely on my opinion.

Day 15 – Home Alone

Meet the McAllister family. The scene opens with a lot of chaos. Children running amok. Parents no better. Everyone doing last minute packing for a family trip to Paris for Christmas…Oui! Oui!!

Cue scene 🎬 – Enter Kevin McAllister. How completely adorable was he?

I think it’s so funny how my dream is Kevin’s nightmare – to have my entire family under one roof for Christmas with all the hassle that comes with that. As long as I’m in charge, of course.

Gotta say, this movie is such a cautionary tale of what not to do when going out of town:

  1. Don’t inform people you’re leaving or give them your itinerary; unless you trust them or there’s a purpose to them knowing
  2. Pack well before time to avoid running around last minute
  3. For God’s sake, make sure the alarm is working properly before you go to bed. Perhaps have a backup alarm just in case.
  4. And most importantly, make sure you DO NOT forget your travel companions. Especially the damn children.

Well, back to the movie plot. Boy! Did these burglars pick the wrong house to rob? With how resourceful Kevin is, who needs a guard dog? I’d definitely much rather have a Kevin. If you saw our guard dog, I think you’d agree with me.

So let me get this straight, these guys think they’re being scammed by a “kindergartener”, who scared them off 3 different times, and they still think he’s an average kindergartener? Well, safe to say they were asking for it, isn’t it?

Side note – It’s funny how Kevin can cut his own tree. Don’t even think I can. This 8-year-old is definitely better than me in so many ways.

The scene where Kevin is starting to gear up for the fight ahead, where he goes to the church to listen to the choir. I think that scene explains why I love “O holy night” so much.

Teachable moment!! You cannot believe everything you hear about people. You have to meet them, get to know before you can form any kind of opinion about them.

If only people practised this more in life, a lot of conflicts would be avoided

Now, the main action starts from 1:13:42 secs, and if I were you, I would not do anything until it ends cause you’re in for a riot.

Either these burglars had so much will power + a never give up attitude or they were just too stupid and lacked the basic amount of self-preservation needed for survival. Which do you think?

And after everything, Kevin actually cleans up??? 😲 This is a boy after my own heart.

This has got to be one of my favourite Christmas movies/childhood movies. Also, may have been what disillusioned me about a white Christmas. Each year, I get more disappointed. Global warming, eh?

I have to say, this is such a John Hughes’ masterpiece. Chris Columbus truly brought his vision to life.

And the soundtrack is just ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐. Mr John Williams needs to be celebrated as a Christmas legend

Rating – 🎅 🎅 🎅 🎅 🎅 ­– can I see this every other day, please? Definitely a staple on my Christmas list

Day 16 – Home Alone 2

Gee! I wonder what Kevin has been up to since we last him. Did he turn into some kind of serial killer or another form of criminal due to the trauma of his last Christmas? Who would blame him?

Yes, Kevin’s back!! And this time he’s in New York City for Christmas. What better city to get lost in? Ok, maybe Paris. But NY is just as great. Wonder if he ever made it to Paris.

Does anyone else wonder what Kevin’s parents do for a living? To be able to afford that beautiful BIG house, all the Christmas decorations and paying for the whole family (immediate and brother’s family) to go to Florida for Christmas + pizzas for everyone. Can I get that job too?

So yet again, the family packs late and miss their alarm. At least this time they remember Kevin. Praise the lord. At least up to the airport, this time. Ok, so this time, it is Kevin’s fault when he loses his family. LOL when his mum faints after she realises Kevin isn’t with them…hahaha. If I were his parental unit, I’d have him hooked to one of us all the way from the night before we leave until the moment we get home. Take turns with his leash for effective monitoring.

Am I the only one that thinks that Kevin’s reservation audio voice sounds like a ransom call? I guess we know something else he can get into…JK, obviously.

LOL when Kevin loses his swimsuit in the hotel pool. I can definitely testify to the fact that it’s not just him it has happened to #OneOfTheMostEmbarrassingMomentsOfMyLife

So while Kevin is living it up at the Plaza hotel in NY, his family is rolling into a dirty rundown shady motel in rainy Florida. I think I’d much rather be Kevin in this scenario.

What are the odds of the Sticky Bandits (Harry and Marv) and Kevin being in the same random city at the same time? “Pardonnez moi, mon chérie” 😂 😂 😂 Bad luck guys…

So if you see the 8-year-old that sent you to prison singlehandedly, and you just broke out for a fresh start, do you:

  1. Try to kidnap him and pay him back, or
  2. Avoid him like the plague and act like you never saw him in your life

Key moments of the movie –

  • Kevin’s sage wisdom to the homeless woman – 1:09:00 – 1:12:38 secs
  • Prep for battle – 1:14:56 – 1:17:11
  • The main showdown – 1:20:13 – 1:45:51 secs. I would definitely not go anywhere within this time. There’s a beautiful gift at 1:31 min

Thanks for the gift idea ✌ Been thinking of some friendship appreciation gifts seeing as I have some of the most supportive friends who have been blowing my mind a lot lately. Oprah voice and pointing at my friends individually You get a turtledove. You get a turtledove. We all get turtledoves.

Once again, hats off to John Hughes, Chris Columbus and John Williams. Dynamic Trio.

Rating – 🎅 🎅 🎅 🎅 🎅– do I have to wait for Christmas to see this?

Day 17 – Deck the Halls

At the very beginning of the movie, we see a 10-year-old having a mid-life crisis. Wonder what he’d do in his 20’s, 30’s, 40’s. He has no clue that it only gets tougher.

All I could think about in the movie is does Carrie Bradshaw know that Charlotte is shacking up with her alter ego’s husband? Scandalous!!!

Some serious questions from this movie:

  1. Who moves in, in the middle of the night? Suspicious much?
  2. What’s up with Buddy (Danny DeVito) and keeping nocturnal hours? He should probably see a doctor about that. Why does he think it’s ok to decorate his house at 3 am?
  3. How did Buddy afford all his Christmas decorations?

I don’t blame Steve (Matthew Broderick), if I woke up and found a naked Danny DeVito on my naked body in the back of a van, I would freak out as well.

The movie depicts how Christmas can bring out all the crazies. Why is this? It also shows the worst part of Christmas – when you force it. Christmas is a feeling, and like most feelings you don’t force it. Just let it come naturally.

Rating – 🎅 🎅– would see it next year if nothing kicks it out

Day 18 – The Santa Clause

Basically, this movie is about letting yourself believing in Christmas irrespective of any doubts about the practicalities of Santa or the elves. As Scott (Tim Allen) said, “Sometimes, believing in something, just means believing in it”.

I really hope Santa has top tier lawyers who are leading experts on child labour laws cause I’m pretty sure he’s breaching some sort of international and national laws by employing little kids in his workshop.

Never felt like slapping someone more than I did whenever I saw Dr Neal

Did someone else spot those very creepy children when Santa was taking off at the end of the movie? If this were supernatural, Sam and Dean would have one hell of an episode.

Rating – 🎅 🎅 – least favourite of the franchise

P.S. Aisha Tyler is who I want to be when I grow up

Day 19 – The Santa Clause 2

This plot really stressed me out. So to be a Santa, Scott finds out that he must take a bride? How does this affect his Santa duties? However, I love his choice of bride. Imagine if he got with the other woman…hahaha…I mean she had mad Christmas spirit.

I really felt for Curtis. I too know the struggle of needing to listen to music but not owning headphones. Good thing I got a pair as a Christmas present this year.

Most days I too feel like duplicating myself to deal with life but now I’m scared my duplicate would become an evil dictator that tries to take over my life and then tries to ruin it.

Rating – 🎅 🎅 🎅 – see you next year

Day 20 – The Santa Clause 3

All I can say is that can my ex-hubby and his new wife get along with my new hubby like this, please? One big happy family

Is there any mum that doesn’t make those remarks about your life? I want. And Carol’s dad – LOL…he knows what’s up

Aisha Tyler is a legend

Rating – 🎅 🎅 🎅 – probably my best in the whole franchise

Day 21 – Annie (1999)

So, let me get this right. This orphaned 11-year old girl runs away from her horrible orphanage after a beautiful rendition of “it’s a hard knock life”, finds a cute dog she then proceeds to take as her own. She returns home and instead of a punishment, she gets chosen by a rich man (billionaire) trying to cram in his goodwill for the year to live in his big mansion and to be waited on by a host of staff.

Bonds with this man, so much that he decides to adopt her.

Then, she proceeds to meet the frigging president of the United States.

Talk about from grass to grace. Can I be Annie, please? I need a billionaire daddy too. Times are tough, need a few billions.

Rating – 🎅 🎅 🎅 🎅 – gonna watch the 1982 version next year. Same movie and all

And that’s it for this week’s movies. Same place, next week.

Ho! Ho! Ho! Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

