Living a Healthy Life – Pt. 1

So for a while, I have struggled with living a wholesome and healthy life. I always say, “I’d start tomorrow”, then tomorrow comes and I repeat my all too familiar mantra. Well, not anymore. I’ve decided that it’s finally time and that’s why I’m writing this and asking the universe to hold me accountable. So, in the spirit of putting things out there in the universe, my life goals (in terms of this topic) are to:

  • Be fit and all round healthy
  • Be lean and toned – tight abs, no flabs
  • Discipline my body

So follow me on this two-part series as I make these 11 commitments to myself that will govern my life from now (TBF, I practice most of these, already).

Meal

  1. Eating a balanced healthy meal: The beginning of a healthy lifestyle is to have a healthy eating habit. This includes:
    • Eating plenty soluble fibres every day (e.g. flaxseed, legumes, avocado);
    • Avoiding foods that contain trans fat (e.g. margarine);
    • Incorporating a high protein diet – i.e. including a good protein source (meat, fish, eggs, dairy or nuts) at every meal;
    • Eating sugar sparingly (including natural sugars);
    • Cutting back on carbs, especially refined carbs;
    • Making coconut oil (one of the healthiest fats) my prime cooking oil;
    • Serving smaller portions at each meal but eating more frequently (rather than the traditional 3 square meals);
    • Eating homemade meals, and at the very least avoiding unhealthy fast food joints;
    • And eating less fried food – more oven baked

    To this end, I commit to making and regularly reviewing a detailed meal

  1. Skipping meals: I am so guilty of this crime. Sometimes, it’s cause there’s “just nothing to eat” or cause “I simply don’t have enough time”. Either way, I end up feeling so tired and a lot hungrier, to the point that I end up eating more than I need at my next meal or satisfying my hunger with unhealthy snacks (the culprit is usually a snickers bar #GuiltyPleasure).
    To combat this, I commit to following my meal plan religiously which includes doing my grocery shopping regularly and doing meal preps.
Spring waterSource: http://www.bluerealspringwater.com
  1. Make water my best friend: Water is this magical elixir that keeps our cells functioning properly, helps keep our skin looking as youthful as possible and detoxing our body. Although there is no recommended daily dose of water intake, I commit to making water my main choice of drink.
  1. Water before a meal: Drinking a glass of water – which has zero calories – before each meal fills up the stomach and leads to eating less calorie-containing food during the meal.
    I commit to drinking a glass of water at least 10 minutes before my meals.
  1. Soda/carbonated drinks: They contain so much sugar and are bad for the teeth and your weight. Also, because of the high sugar, sodium and caffeine content in soda, it dehydrates the body and over a long period of time can cause chronic dehydration.
    To combat this, I commit to limiting/eliminating my soda intake; and substituting it with either water or other homemade drinks (juices, smoothies and milkshakes).
  1. Alcohol Intake: Drinking too much – on one occasion or over a period of time – can be bad for your health. I think we know this by now. Also ever heard of a beer belly? That ain’t cute. Alcohol is a very touchy subject and up to personal preference. However, drinking in moderation (especially red wine) can have some health benefits.

How much alcohol should I be drinking?
In the US, a “standard” drink is any drink that contains about 0.6 fluid ounces or 14 grams of “pure” alcohol.US standard drink

Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism – https://www.rethinkingdrinking.niaaa.nih.gov/How-much-is-too-much/What-counts-as-a-drink/Whats-A-Standard-Drink.aspx

In the UK, to keep health risks from alcohol to a low level, the UK Chief Medical Officers’ (CMO) low risk alcohol unit guidelines advise it is safest not to drink more than 14 units a week on a regular basis.

UK standard drink

Source: The Chief Medical Officers’ Low Risk Drinking Guidelines are available online at https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/545937/UK_CMOs__report.pdf

I commit to keeping my alcohol intake to the recommended dosages stated above, where I indulge.

Green teaSource:http://www.livestrong.com/article/299895-benefits-of-green-tea-regarding-the-immune-system/
  1. Drinking green tea: It contains caffeine and the antioxidant epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG), both of which appear to boost metabolism. The benefits of green tea far outweigh any risks. Benefits include boosting metabolic rate and the reduction of body fat (especially in the abdominal area), reducing the risk of chronic illness. However, avoid adding dairy products to your tea as this might reduce the antioxidant value. And be careful with your green tea intake as it really does work, if not too well. True story, spent a whole night awake cause I had the shits.
    I commit to making green tea a staple of my daily life.

See you on the flip side for my other commitments.

Leave a Reply

