Living a Heathy Life – Pt. 2

I finally stopped being lazy enough to complete my two-part series on my 11 commitments. I should really have someone check out this my utter laziness, it’s really becoming a problem. Here goes nothing.

blackgirlsrun2_beactiveSource: http://www.healthybr.com/be-active/running-walking

8. Exercise regularly: No eating habit is complete without a little exercise. Exercise is an effective way to improve health, sleep and appetite. Aerobic exercise (cardio) is an effective way to improve health and burn calories. While, resistance training, also known as weightlifting or strength training, is important for preserving and gaining muscle mass. Although daily exercise is key for a good night’s sleep, performing it too late in the day may also cause problems falling asleep for some people.
I commit to exercising at least 3 days a week.

woman sleepingSource: https://www.shutterstock.com/

9. Get plenty of restful sleep: Sleep is essential as it allows our bodies to perform essential tasks. Sleep has been linked to many aspects of health including weight.
I commit to having at least 7 hours of sleep per night.

10. “Me” time: Having some down time is very important as it allows you to reflect and relax. You could decide to have an active or inactive “me” time. In order to have a healthy lifestyle, I commit to taking at least a day out of the week for myself, to do whatever makes me happy.

Persons Sitting under TreeSource: http://wlpapers.com/sitting-under-the-tree.html

11. Grab some vitamin D: It is estimated that sensible sun exposure on bare skin for 5-10 minutes 2-3 times per week allows the body the ability to produce sufficient vitamin D, but vitamin D has a half-life of only two weeks, meaning that stores can run low, especially in winter. Benefits of Vitamin D include maintaining healthy bones and teeth, cancer reduction and supporting the health of the immune system, brain and nervous system.
Public Announcement! Remember your sunscreen and to also stay under a shade between 11am and 3pm.
I commit to spending at least 5 to 10 minutes in the sun at least 2 times per week.

I’m sure my body would be thanking me years from now. What are some of your health habits?

Leave a Reply

