DIARY OF AN UNLUCKY PASSENGER

I believe that someone somewhere has placed some kind of magical curse on me regarding airports. For as long as I can remember, airports and I haven’t had the smoothest of relationships. The few times when things do go right, I catch myself hurrying away before fate realises it’s me and grounds me. But I guess there’s a lesson somewhere in all those turbulences. So allow me to be a cautionary tale and share the few encounters that come to mind:

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 18.25.40

Lesson: Try and book direct flights where possible, but if you must transit, make sure you have the correct visa.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 18.35.56

Lesson: You are entitled to ask for a refund when you don’t make a flight. Also, don’t take their word as gospel about any pre-flight enquiries, get whatever they say in writing.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 18.41.45

Lesson: Always, be prepared to entertain yourself at an airport. Also, it’s like the jungle out there, find comfort and sustenance first and maintain it for as long as you can.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 18.48.07

Lesson: Firstly, earbuds are not your friends at the airport when it comes to announcements. Secondly, you gotta make things happen yourself, so don’t just wait for instructions, go up and ask questions and stay visible.

Ultimate silver lining: At least, they’ve never lost my luggage🎉🎉. I have that, at least. Hope I haven’t jinxed it🤞🏾

Finally, allow me to share some travel tips:

  • Make sure you have all your documents and that they are valid (ID, visas). Funny story, I didn’t realise my passport had expired till I was about to travel. The stress I went through to renew is not something I’d wish on anybody. Be smart.
  • Check in your luggage online. Shave off time to arrive later or do some duty-free shopping
  • Give enough time in case there’s a complication
  • Do yourself a favour and invest in a neck pillow. I swear it would be your reliable travel buddy for life. Thank me later

Perhaps I should consider a different mode of travelling. What are some of your unfortunate travel stories?

One thought on “DIARY OF AN UNLUCKY PASSENGER

Leave a Reply

